Marathon 18 – Tiara

Chapter 25: Suspicion and Racing

Peter.

                 “Peter!! Get out the bed!!” I groan as I hear Cycil yell. I look around to see Francis and Marjorie asleep beside me. Why am I awake and they’re not?

‘So unfair’ I thought as I crawl out the van. I look around before realising that we’re no longer in the travel centre. I look around before finding Cycil and Arthur a distance away from the van. I yawn as I close the door and walk over.

“Nice to know I can wake up one of you without having to come shake you awake” Cycil says as he ruffles my hair, I whine as he leaves, before leaning on a nearby car. Arthur snorts at me before looking around.

“So, you’ve got anything inside your pocket that would keep your hair out your eyes?” he asks as he leans on the car with me. I shrug and search around, I can feel a rubber band in one of my pockets but I only wear it like a bracelet.

“Okay I have the other two” Cycil says as he drags Marjorie and Francis out the car and walk to us. I nod as I start collecting my mind.

‘We’re not in that travel pilot thing, so we’re somewhere that Arthur “picked.” Meaning that we’re gonna play laser tag’ I thought, thinking back to what Cycil said in the café this morning.

“Hey are we going to go into teams?” I ask as I follow Arthur. He looks at me before shrugging, I look at him unimpressed before looking back to Cycil.

“Cycil are we going to split into teams?” Marjorie asks. Cycil shrugs as we enter, I look around and noticed there are so many arcade games. Marjorie appears beside me, we look at each other, then to Francis.

“Oi Fran” I call him.

“We bet you can’t beat us” we tell him together, with the same tone and beat. Francis’s eyes widen and he looks at us fearfully, he stare at us before gathering himself and smirks.

“I bet I can” he says as he turns to Arthur and smirks, Arthur looks at him before looking over to Cycil, who is coming over with tickets.

“So I’ve decided that we’ll have three rounds, a break and just do it again and again until we’re satisfied” he says as he looks over at us. At the sight of Francis smirking Cycil stops dead and narrows his eyes. He crosses his hands and stare at us.

“What are you planning?” he asks us suspiciously.

“Nothing, but before we play can we beat Francis?” I ask pointing to the multiple games behind us. Cycil looks at us tiredly before sighing.

“Let me buy the coins. Arthur watch them” Cycil orders as he turns around to go back to the counter. I stare at him as suspiciously he walks away.

I look to Arthur, wondering what’s wrong with Cycil, usually Cycil is more up beat and cheerful than this. Arthur looks at me and sighs, shaking his head. I frown as I look at Francis and Marjorie, both oblivious to Cycil’s sudden change.

‘Actually thinking back, Cycil wasn’t himself this morning, not after we got off the van to eat in that pizzeria’ I thought back, I wonder what’s wrong with him.

“Alright, here. Now go, but ten games then come back here, Artty we need to talk” Cycil says as he walks back before turning to Arthur. Arthur gives him a look, asking if he is serious. I think he wanted to run in with us. Cycil stares at him before Arthur groans and walking over.

I watch as Cycil hands Francis a few coins before he signals Arthur to walk with him, Marjorie leaves my side to walk over to Francis. I let her as I watch Cycil and Arthur talk in a corner. They are too fat for me to hear, the sound of kids screaming and people yelling in the background is too loud. I growl as I try to get closer to the two, but before I can someone grabs me by my hand, yanking me back with a giggle.

“Come on Pete. It’s ten games, we win just six and Francis won’t stand a chance” Marjorie says as she drags me back.

“Mar I need to –“

“Oh come on Pete. It’s just ten games, no more than 25 minutes” she says cutting me off.

“I think Cycil needs –“

“Come on, or I’ll braid your hair together with mine.”

“What?”

“I’ll braid your hair and mine together, like that one time” she says laughing a little. Francis snicker as he walks over.

“Just a few games, besides you can worry about Cycil later, Arthur can worry for Cycil for you” he says ruffling my hair. I groan as he tosses my hair into my eyes.

“What does that mean?”

“It means Arthur’s a worrywart that can cover worrying for Cycil that he’ll fill in for you until I beat you” I roll my eyes at the explanation, I look at Marjory smiling.

“Fine. But you’re not gonna win” I tell him as me and Marjorie turn to the entrance.

We laughs as we run in, followed by Francis cackling behind us. We search around the building, looking for an exciting game we could play.

“Oh there!” Marjorie says as she points to the rows of racing games. I jump into one of the seats, with Marjorie on the other side. I wait as Francis inserts the coins before jumping into the last one.

We wait as the screen loads. I hit the gas pedal as the screen reads start, Majorie is in first place, followed by Francis. I’m on sixth because I keep crashing onto the side of the race tracks.

“You kids forgot that I drive cars for a living.”

“Don’t get cocky Mechanic, you fix cars not drive them.”

“But I know how to.”

“Then why is my sister beating you?”

“Because this is not Mario cart.”

“How is that any different?!!” Marjorie says as Francis passes her. I laugh as I watch the names on my screen switch numbers, Francis is first, then Marjorie, then Francis, a new opponent and the back to Marjorie.

“Two more laps lady and gentleman let us see who will win.

The book loving girl that has a temper tantrum if I don’t let her win.

Or the handsome mechanic who has been into multiple street races and won half of them” Francis narrates.

“Hey! What about me?” I ask him.

“The only one that is still in his first lap and is losing to NPC’s?”

“They’re hard okay!!”I defend myself. Francis cackles at my excuse.

“Hey!!!”

“No one talks dirt about my twin you cumberworld, dollop-head” she insults.

I look to her as my car crashes again. Together with Francis we look at her both fearfully and questioningly.

“WHAT!!??” We ask together. What has my sister been up to and what is a cumberworld?

“I WIN!!!” she declares happily. Francis turns to his screen screaming ‘NO!!!!”

I wreck my brain, searching for something that could even resembles the word cumberworld.

“Come on let’s go play another game!!” Marjorie cheerfully declares as she leaves us wondering what a cumberworld is.

I follow Marjorie to another game, still a racing game but this time it’s a motorcycle. I turn to Francis and smirks.

“Come on then Mechanic. My sister can beat you using a digital car what about a digital motorcycle?” I ask him. Francis looks at the game before turning to me, he nods grinning.

“You’re on” he tells me. I smirk, climbing onto the plastic motorcycle, I watch as Francis climb onto the other one and starts the game.

I look at the screen, the track is a normal racing one, different from the car track that Francis picked the first time. The car track was in a desert, you have to go through multiple off road obstacles that I know I would never get through.

“Not so cocky now huh Mechanic” I taint him, I can hear Marjorie snorts and Francis grumbles. As the screen says go I rev up the motorcycle and drive first. I laugh as I see Francis’s motorcycle crash onto the wall of cement in front of us.

“You can’t drive a motorcycle!” Marjorie says as she realises why I pick this game. Unlike Francis I know how to ride a motorcycle, mainly because Cycil told me how to and because Mephisto lent me his motorcycle once, so that I can get a feel of how it would feel like when I get my own, though I doubt that would ever happen.

‘I wonder if the old man would ever help me make a motorcycle’ I thought as I start my second lap. Marjorie laughs as she watches Francis’s screen. I can hear him crash again and again.

“If I win you’re gonna have less of a chance of beating us” I tell him. Francis curse as he revs up and didn’t crash this time, he is getting the hang of it.

“Oh bother” Marjorie says. I can hear Francis yells out in frustration.

“What happened?” I ask

“He went the wrong way and crashed” Marjorie tell me. I snicker and laughs.

“Looks like I’m winning.”

“Just because I can’t drive a motorcycle.”

“That what happened to me in the last game too” I tell him.

“Then what about Marjorie? She can’t drive.”

“Yes I can” Marjorie answers smugly.

“What? When?”

“The Old Man taught me a few months ago.”

“Old coot is a traitor!!”

“No he isn’t.”

“Well either way you’re losing.”

“Damn it!!”

Sprint 18- Aila

Feeling jolly, I woke up from sleeping. The beds in Marriot was so comfortable to sleep on! I spotted Dad and Mum; they woke up before me.

 

“Hi Aila,” Dad greeted, “We need to pray, OK. Just go wudhu, then after Mum’s done praying with me, you pray.”

 

I said ‘OK’, then went to the toilet to wudhu. The toilet at Marriot were agreeable, too. All of a sudden, after wudhu, my body and myself felt really warm. But it didn’t feel like the warm feeling you get when you’re sick, it’s one of the warm feelings you get when places are too warm.

 

“Mum, Dad, I feel warm,” I informed.

 

“OK, I’ll turn the AC on,” Dad answered, going near my bed to turn the AC on. I lay on Mum and Dad’s bed and gazed at the ceiling, waiting until Mum and Dad had finished praying: they were praying Fajr- in Indonesian, Subuh. Finally, when Mum and Dad was finished praying, I got to pray. Me and Mum was taking turns to pray because Mum only brought her spare mukena. If we brought two mukenas- mine and Mum’s, then our suitcase will be too full.

pedestrians crossing a cobblestone street across a three storey brown stone building
Photo by Anna Urlapova on Pexels.com

 

PHOTO OF ABERDEEN👆. I felt way better when the AC was on. I felt as cool as a cucumber. Slough, (the place me and my family are staying at) is way balmy than in Aberdeen. Aberdeen’s only twenty six or twenty five degrees Celsius at summer! I remembered when I first moved to Aberdeen, it was summer time, and me and my family thought the weather was chilly, so we put a portable radiator on. Now, when it’s summer, I would take all my jackets off and just enjoy it. I don’t feel chilly anymore at summer time. Maybe when me and my family get back to Indonesia, I will roast there, I thought.

two people walking towards a nipa hut in the rice fields surrounded by thick vegetation
Photo by Tom Fisk on Pexels.com

 

“Aila, please take a shower and get ready for breakfast,” Mum commanded.

 

“Because, after breakfast, we’re going straight to Legoland,” Dad explained. I did what I was told and hit the showers. I didn’t actually hit it, but it’s a saying of going in a shower. Before I went in the shower, Mum showed me how to turn it on. I always get help before I turn on the shower- any shower. I’ll panic that I’ll break the showers! Yes, I do have OCD (everything needs to be perfect).

 

 

Elegantly, after I showered, I put on my striped dark green, black and white coloured dress. Hastily, I put on an undecoratted black headscarf. I’ll use a better one to go to Legoland, I thought. I went out of the bathroom.

 

“Ready,” I said.

 

“Now it’s time for me to take a shower,” Mum smiled, taking one if the white towels belonging to the hotel. I felt bored, so I switched the TV on. I watched my favourite TV channel- CBBC. Unfortunately, I forgot what TV show I watched, so I couldn’t tell anyone what I watched. Soon, I had to read the Quran again. When I did, Eiffel woke up. Of course he wanted to watch a different TV show than me. He always will; it’s kind of maddening. Eiffel was watching dreary kid TV shows. He was only five in August. In October, Eiffel’s going to be six.

 

“Eiffel, after Mum finishes taking a shower, you have to, OK?” Dad entreated.

 

“Exactly, Eiffel,” I hissed, because Eiffel’s being exasperating.

 

 

When everybody was ready, (which took longer than I expected) we headed downstairs for breakfast. Since we didn’t need to bring the buggy down, we didn’t need to go on the lift. The stairs looked rather tedious; it was only whitish, with black sploshes everywhere for decoration. But, we got downstairs anyway. Again, we saw the receptionist lady that always smiled at us.

 

“Wow. These receptionists are all foreign,” Dad noticed, “None of them are English. Even though this is an English hotel.”

 

“I think the receptionist lady that served us yesterday was either Polish, Russian or Latvian,” I said. I can’t really tell between Latvian and Polish most of the time.

 

When we’ve booked a table, I headed straight away for the most appetizing breakfast- scrambled eggs, hash browns and baked beans-  it’s basically an English breakfast.

 

“This breakfast is delish!” I licked my mouth.

 

“I know, right?” Mum answered. Breakfast at hotels are the best.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marathon 18 – Amanda

== Bab 4.2 ==

 

“—Lin! Lina! LINA!!!” teriak Rie tepat di kuping Lina, membuatnya terkejut.
“Aduuh … Siapa sih … Eh? Rie toh, kamu sudah pulang ternyata,” jawab Lina sambil menguap. “Sekarang emang jam berapa sih? Bukannya masih dua ya … Hoaaam …” Lina menguap lagi.

“Astaga-naga … KAMU TIDUR LAMA BANGET TAHU!! Dan, sekarang bukan JAM DUA TAPI JAM EMPAT!” seru Rie kesal. Di belakangnya terdengar orang cekikikan dan ada yang menghela napas. “A–APAAAAA?!” Lina menjerit kaget, jam 4 berarti tandanya sudah waktunya berangkat!

Lina melonjak dari kasurnya, segera menyadari kalau dia telah terlambat. Tapi, Lina kaget ketika melihat ternyata semuanya sedang ada di kamarnya. Rupanya sampai pada waktunya, mereka bingung Lina tidak datang-datang juga. Akhirnya memutuskan untuk datang ke kamarnya, dan melihat Lina tertidur lelap di kasurnya. Rie sampai menggeleng-geleng ketika melihatnya.

Mereka naik ke mobil, hendak pergi ke suatu tempat yang dijanjikan Kak Yani. Mereka tak lama naik mobil, sekarang mereka turun dan masuk ke Stasiun Tokyo. Kak Yani mengurus semua karcis-karcis yang mereka perlukan.

Gerakan Kak Yani cepat sekali, tak perlu waktu lama hingga Kak Yani kembali pada mereka dan menyerahkan karcis masing-mading. Kak Yani berpesan agar karcisnya di simpan di tas selempang kecil dan tas itu dijaga ketat. Meskipun di kereta Jepang tidak seramai Indonesia, kewaspadaan tetap diperlukan.

Mereka berpindah jalur ke jalur Odakyu yang mengarah ke Shinjuku. Sebelum mereka naik kereta, Kak Yani berpesan agar jangan pernah mengobrol selama dalam kereta di seluruh Jepang. Di sana itu dianggap tak sopan karena mengganggu beberapa orang yang mungkin baru pulang dan ketiduran dalam kereta.

Sesaat setelah Kak Yani memberitahukan itu pada mereka, keretanya pun datang. Mereka masuk dan merasakan keheningan yang dimaksud. Lina dan teman-temannya berusaha agar tidak menimbulkan suara bising di dalam kereta.

Lina memutuskan untuk selalu di dekat Kak Yani, karena dia lupa mereka akan turun di mana. Meskipun Lina yakin yang lain yang tidak tahu seperti dia akan mengikuti gerakan Kak Yani, mereka akan turun ketika Kak Yani turun. Kak Yani berdiri, Lina merasa sudah hampir waktunya turun.

Dan betul saja, ketika kereta sampai di Stasiun Enoshima, mereka segera turun. Di luar, Kak Yani bilang mereka akan jalan sampai tempat tujuan, yang lain setuju-setuju saja, sambil berharap jalan kakinya tidak terlalu jauh. Setelah 15 menit berjalan kaki, Kak Yani berhenti, semua otomatis juga ikut berhenti.

“Nah, di sini destinasi kita!” ucap Kak Yani riang.
“Eh? Di sini?” tanya Rie bingung.
“Tapi di sini ngga ada–”
“Eekh! Ada banyak kuciiing!!” di belakang Rie ada Willy yang menjerit senang. sekelilingnya dipenuhi kucing-kucing.

Rie sendiri baru menyadari, kalau jumlah kucing di sekeliling tempatnya berada banyak sekali. Biasanya di jalanan cuma terlihat 3-6 kucing, tapi di sini bisa sampai 6-10 kucing terlihat sepanjang jalan. Willy senang sekali, dia suka kucing. Willy mengelus beberapa kucing yang mendekatinya, Lina melihat kegembiraan dalam raut wajah Willy.

“Kita sedang ada di mana, Kak Yani?” tanya Teru, dia berusaha memfoto seekor kucing.
“Selamat datang di Pulau Kucing!” ucap Kak Yani semangat.
“Pulau Kucing??” tanya Teru bingung, buyar sudah konsentrasi memfotonya. Dia lebih tertarik pada penjelasan Kak Yani daripada memfoto. Kak Yani pintar menjelaskan.

“Iya! Jepang sangat baik, mereka memberikan tempat pada beberapa kucing-kucing liar, tidak seperti beberapa negara lain yang mungkin memutuskan untuk membunuhnya,” jawab Kak Yani panjang lebar. Willy yang sedang berada di dekat Kak Yani merasa kalau nada suaranya Kak Yani terdengar sedih pada akhirnya.

“Ooh … begitu ya, Kak. Eh, kenapa kucing-kucing ini ada di sini?” Rie ikut nimbrung dalam percakapan.
“Sebenarnya mereka adalah kucing-kucing liar. Ada yang dibuang oleh pemiliknya, ada juga yang memang asli liar. Kucing di pulau ini awalnya ditinggalkan di sini, tapi sekarang ada pengunjung dan penduduk merawat mereka,” jawab Kak Yani.

Setiap Kak Yani menjelaskan, jawabannya selalu panjang. Tapi detil dan jelas, hal itu membuat Lina dan teman-teman merasa tidak masalah berlama-lama mendengarkannya. Kak Yani juga berkata, ada beberapa pulau lainnya. Pulau Kucing tempat mereka berada bukan hanya satu-satunya pulau.

Masih ada kira-kira 10 pulau lain di tempat berbeda, dengan perangai kucing yang berbeda-beda pula. Di Pulau Enoshima sendiri, kucing-kucing itu tidak terlalu galak, karena mereka sudah terbiasa dengan manusia. Kucing-kucing di sana milik lokal dan bersama, semua bebas menyentuh, mengelus, atau memberi makan kucing-kucing di sana.

Tapi, kucing juga sama seperti manusia, tidak semuanya senang dengan manusia. Lina hampir saja kena cakar karena iseng menepuk bagian belakang salah satu kucing. Kebetulan saja, kucing yang dipilih Lina itu tidak suka dibegitukan, makanya dia mencakar.

Mereka menikmati waktu mereka di sana dengan para kucing-kucing, foto-foto dan ikut penduduk lokal memberi makan mereka pada waktunya memberi makan. Sampai akhirnya, Kak Yani memberitahukan mereka sudah waktunya balik ke hotel. Willy sedih harus berpisah dengan kucing-kucing imut itu.

Willy melambai pada mereka sebelum jalan mengikuti yang lain kembali ke stasiun.
“Sudahlah, Willy … Kamu kan sudah foto mereka banyak sekali tadi,” ucap Teru menenangkan. Memang sih, Willy tadi foto paling banyak semasa mereka di Pulau. Sampai-sampai powerbank milik Lina kehabisan battery karena bolak-balik dipinjam oleh Willy.

Perjalanan ke hotel terasa singkat, mereka naik ke kereta, tak lama duduk mereka sudah bangun lagi. Mereka keluar dan masuk ke mobil yang membawa mereka ke depan hotel. Dan, sekarang mereka sudah berada di depan pintu kamar masing-masing. Kak Yani menyuruh mereka tidur lebih cepat, besok mereka akan ke suatu tempat di Tokyo yang seru.

Mereka mengangguk, dan masuk ke kamar masing-masing. Di dalam, Lina dan Rie langsung merebahkan diri di kasur, kelelahan dengan acara hari itu. Tak lama kemudian, mereka sudah tidur dan bermimpi indah tentang keesokan harinya.

 

== 00 == 00 ==

Maraton 18 – Hanin

Aku juga mengunjungi
tempat wisata yang isinya kincir angin semua! Namany juga Belanda,disebut juga negeri Kincir Angin. Serunya adalah kita boleh masuk ke dalam kincir anginnya! (bayar sih).

Kincir angin itu dulu ditinggali oleh 1 keluarga. Padahal kan ukuran rumahnya kecil tinggi. Di dalamnya tuh ada kamar-kamar tapi kecil banget dan isinya Kasur semua! Keciiiiiiil banget, mana orang eropa kan tinggi-tinggi… kayaknya kincir anginnya masih ditempati orang deh, soalnya ada ibu-ibunya duduk santai di ruang keluarga, masih pake “klompen” lagi!!

Aku lihat ada Bapak-bapaknya juga, dia sedang menambatkan windmillnya supaya baling-balingnya berhenti berputar. Kenapa,karena katanyaberisik di dalam rumahnya. Aku jadi mikir, kalau kincirnnya ditambat berarti ga ada listrik donk? Engga lah.. kata Umiku, listrik dari tenaga angi itu disimpan buat malam atau waktu lain.

Setelah melihat-lihat kincir angin, skuy! Lanjoot makaan!!!!!! Aku makan di restoran Turki, GEDE BANGET PORSINYAAAA!!!! Tapi habisjuga ternyata bertiga. Eh pelayannya baik lho!!! Dia ngasih aku permen!! ( tau aja aku suka permen!) bilangnya gini lgi “ this is for you princess” Ewww….“princess”!?!?!?!??!?! WUT!! >:0 ya sudah lah terserahdia… yang penting dikasih permen wkwkwk.

Setelah 3 hari di Belanda, aku dan Umi lanjutkan perjalanan ke Perancis. Kami naik bus malam menuju Paris. Ada kejadian lho kata Umiku, waktu di bus. Aku kan tidur terus tapi aku mendengar suara anjing menggonggong kencang banget gitu! Terus habis itu aku ke bangun dikit abis itu tidur lagi. Terus kata Umiku, tadi itu ada pemeriksaan batas wilayah gitu,imigrasi, ternyata anjingnya gong-gong karena orang di belakangi kita kayaknya bawa DRUGS soalnya Umiku dengar orang itu dibawa keluar bis dan polisinya kayak bilang “ kata “drugs!”. Wah untung aku tidur pulas.